Posted in random

A copy of my last email before leaving Google…

I cannot believe it’s been 4 years since i last blogged… I recently left Google after 3 years as an iOS/Android Engineer, so i thought it’d be interesting to post my last email I sent out:

On Wed, Mar 30, 2016 at 10:47 AM Jon Chui <jonchui@google.com> wrote:

Greetings google family & previous co-workers/teams/google-groups-i-loved (this means YOU [REDACTED, private internal email groups, but basically ppl i’ve worked with])

TL;DR – Jon’s gone through a radical transformation this last year, & is now leaving google & selling/donating everything they have so he & his family can go serve the poor & marginalized with Jesus’ love. Come hear him share how this happened & say goodbye @ 12 today in [REDACTED]. BAM. how’s that?

 

Wow..

I never thought this day would come, but my last day is this Friday, April 1!

I’ll be leaving our continent with just a our suitcases, taking my wife & two boys (jordan 4 & lucas 2 – see below) for a 5 month mission/philanthropy trip with christian non-profit Youth With A Mission (ywam.org) to help & serve the poor/marginalized around the world with the love of Jesus.

chui family

 

you must be asking… wait, what?1?! did he just say Jesus?!!
shake head jesus

Believe me, for a man who just a year ago had dreams of owning a private jet & never having to work another day in my life (but of course, working on whatever i wanted to work on, lol), i’m the most surprised one here.

I think Henry David Thoreau best described my life a year ago:

The mass of men lead lives of quiet desperation, and go to the grave with the song still in them.”

Though my quiet desperation was outwardly a noisy one, and looked great (two beautiful boys, my dream job @ Google, working on great products like Inbox by Gmail, Google Maps, go/sound-search, etc., playing beach volleyball, enjoying the dream life) – if you could look inside, i was wasting away: pride, selfishness, arrogance, ego, lust, my marriage was falling apart, i hit 190lb from my college low of 160, career blockages, etc..

Last year, through the hardest trial of my life (i’ll share more in person below) i experienced an inward change last year that blows everything else away. It’s finally given me a hope, a peace a love and an excitement i’ve never known before.

 

I think Jesus said it best:

“Whoever finds their life will lose it, and whoever loses their life for my sake will find it.”

and again

“The kingdom of heaven is like treasure hidden in a field. When a man found it, he hid it again, and then in his joy went and sold all he had and bought that field.”

 

So… before i get too carried away (if you’ve read this far, good for you!! i would’ve stopped @ the beginning before, lol):

 

At first, i was just going to share with a few friends but have been encouraged to send this out to a wider audience in case there’s anyone, even just one person, who can relate & wants this hope too: It’s worth it for me getting meme’gened up 😉

 

 

[ REDACTED – info on my sharing that was intended for my Googler family/friends/co-workers. But if you’re interested in hearing, please give me an email or comment on this post!]

FULL DISCLOSURE: it totally has to do with Jesus, but ironically nothing to do with religion – in fact, religion was the thing that almost kept me from seeing it! 😉

Author:

Jon Chui (pronounced "chew") has been building iOS/Android apps for the last 7 years, the last 3 working on Google Maps, Inbox by Gmail and Google's Search App. Though he grew up in a Christian family and to parents who would end up giving up their 25 years of hard-earned comforts/affluence in Canada to go back to China as missionaries when he was 14, being a Christian was always in his head, and he would constantly struggle with trying to unify the sacred and the secular - until last year. However, through a radical transformation[https://jonchui.wordpress.com/2016/05/17/a-copy-of-my-last-email-before-leaving-google/] @ work last year (which he can't take ANY credit for), he & his wife & 2 young boys have decided to leave Google, sell/donate everything they have so to serve the poor & marginalized with Jesus’ love as missionaries with YWAM.org's Family DTS in Kona, hawaii then to the Philippines. Read more about their family journey @ vickiandjon.com, and reach out to him @ jon@jonchui.com If you're a recruiter with freelance jobs or have tech projects for jon feel free to reach out to him jobs@jonchui.com -

Leave a comment