Posted in random

Best Buy (& other big box retailers) – make sure your ads work!!!!

I wrote a quick post about how a staples ad failed to deliver by a) showing me NO deals and b) not knowing that I was in Canada and not the US here.

So you can imagine my surprise and delight in seeing that the New York Times did indeed know I was in Canada. Not only that,  they even knew that I was in the Lower Mainland!

Screen shot 2009-10-30 at 11.17.45 AM
The New York Times showed me a Best Buy Ad for a (kinda) local Grand Opening!

So Close, Yet So Far…

And just when I thought online ads were getting it, I click on the “click for deals” link and what do I see but a page asking me for my postal code.

Screen shot 2009-10-30 at 11.17.59 AM

I want to see the deals for the new store location, not my location!!!

I see in the address bar that the website was trying to find the new store’s location (in this case Abotsford):

Screen shot 2009-10-30 at 11.33.37 AM

So I can only conclude that Best Buy didn’t test this out thoroughly. Which is a big fail on their part.

Best Buy (& other big box retailers) – Make sure your ads work!!!

I understand companies don’t have time to look at and test all their ads, but by all means you can test the link you give to the Ad companies can’t you?

It’s hard enough to get people to click ads, so If you’re promising to deliver deals for a specific location upon clicking, ensure that is exactly what you will deliver. Not a page that asks for the customer’s postal code, then does not give them the prior mentioned deals!

<end rant>

A lesson learned:

I don’t have a multi-chain, multi-country large franchise like Best Buy, so I don’t know what’s going in on the back end. But I do know that when I start my company and start advertising, I will deliver what I promise.

Author:

Jon Chui (pronounced "chew") has been building iOS/Android apps for the last 7 years, the last 3 working on Google Maps, Inbox by Gmail and Google's Search App. Though he grew up in a Christian family and to parents who would end up giving up their 25 years of hard-earned comforts/affluence in Canada to go back to China as missionaries when he was 14, being a Christian was always in his head, and he would constantly struggle with trying to unify the sacred and the secular - until last year. However, through a radical transformation[https://jonchui.wordpress.com/2016/05/17/a-copy-of-my-last-email-before-leaving-google/] @ work last year (which he can't take ANY credit for), he & his wife & 2 young boys have decided to leave Google, sell/donate everything they have so to serve the poor & marginalized with Jesus’ love as missionaries with YWAM.org's Family DTS in Kona, hawaii then to the Philippines. Read more about their family journey @ vickiandjon.com, and reach out to him @ jon@jonchui.com If you're a recruiter with freelance jobs or have tech projects for jon feel free to reach out to him jobs@jonchui.com -

6 thoughts on “Best Buy (& other big box retailers) – make sure your ads work!!!!

  1. Not to point fingers but you have 1 image at the bottom of this post that is not viewable. I can only see a blue square with a question mark in it as well as two more of these in your previous Kam Do post. If you’re going to talk about companies not having their websites tested to make sure everything works, I think you need to do the same.

    1. Hiya Mac,

      Thanks for the tip. Definitely ironic.

      But in all honesty, I did test the posts after I put them online to make sure they work and everything seemed fine. Do you still have the problem with the blue squared question marks?

      I noticed this tends to happen sometimes in Safari – I took some pictures of it and actually wrote about it in this post.

      I noticed a quick refresh usually solves the problem – does that work for yours?

Leave a Reply

